Equality Delivery System

The NHS Equality Delivery System (EDS)

The NHS Equality Delivery System (EDS) helps local NHS organisations, in discussion with local partners including local people to, review and improve their performance for people with characteristics protected by the Equality Act 2010. Using the EDS helps NHS organisations to deliver on the public sector Equality Duty (PSED). The EDS is aligned to NHS England’s commitment to an inclusive NHS that is fair and accessible to all. NHS organisations like the CHCCG are expected to assess and grade themselves against these outcomes. They are grouped under four goals, as shown in the table below. 


  1. Better health outcomes
  1. Improved patient access and experience
  1. A representative and supported workforce
  1. Inclusive leadership









Normally all NHS organisations are advised to assess and grade their performance across all the EDS outcomes.   There are four grades, which are summarised in table two below.